?

Log in

Top Five Reviews
Pop Culture Reviews and Lists
Top Ten Eddy Guerrero Matches 
9th-Sep-2008 01:22 am
World Champion Eddie Guerrero
I felt like writing about Eddy Guerrero since this past Summer, I pretty much watched his whole career unfold. An internet acquaintance of mine makes essential comps of various great workers around the world of pro wrestling, and in June he finally completed an epic Eddy Guerrero set that was an astounding 36 discs. So, yeah a few days ago I finally finished the set and had some thoughts on Guerrero's best work.




10. Eddie Guerrero vs. Low-Ki (ICW 11/30/01) - This was during the time Eddy was fired from WWE and was going around the indy circuit putting over local indy darlings in wrestling clinics. Even though Low Ki was the champion here, Eddy was wrestling like the touring NWA champions of the past, playing the subtle heel and controlling most of the match with some awesome submissions like the rarely used Inverted Gory Special. Also, there is a great sequence where Low Ki is doing his trademark kicks to Eddy's chest and Eddy catches the foot, turns it into an STF in such a flawless fashion. Guerrero delivered here and it was a pretty brilliant match.

9. Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio (SD! 6/23/05) - Guerrero and Mysterio at this point were no longer the superquick marvels they were in WCW or in their lucha days. Mysterio had multiple knee surgeries, and Guerrero's body and back were destroyed from an almost fatal car crash. But, Guerrero's acting, body language, mic skills, and facial expressions had never been better than they were at this point. Mysterio, while he couldn't pull off the spots he did in the Havoc '97 match, had become in my opinion the best seller in the world. So we have this great match, that starts off with Guerrero pretending to wrestle clean and then he finally takes over and gets heat by simply shoving Mysterio off the ropes and just bringing on the intensity. Very simple yet excellent TV match, Guerrero's and Mysterio's total control of the audience and storytelling were the high point of 2005 WWE television.

8. Eddy Guerrero vs. Dean Malenko (Handheld 9/18/97) - This is a handheld copy, and even though I'm a big Dean Malenko fan, this was the Eddy Guerrero show. Watching this match, it's really apparent how Eddy was brilliant at working the crowd through mannerisms and body language, and how important Love Machine Art Barr was in his career for helping him develop personality wise. When I watch Guerrero in matches like these, where he just combines great heelish tricks (lots of begging off, stalling, false sincerity) with his great amazing ability, I'm convince that Guerrero at his best was probably better than any other pro wrestler ever. Malenko makes a great babyface and does a great job selling the leg in this match.

7. Eddy Guerrero vs. Chris Benoit (WCWSN 11/18/95) - This is a semi-famous gem from the mid-1990s of WCW, as Benoit and Guerrero proceed to wrestle an insane balls out match that leads to a memorable double knockout finish. I don't know what else to really add to this, but this is a match that feels very much like some of the best ROH matches out there, except this has better workers and it happened in 1995 on a b-show. Very different from every match that took place in WWF and WCW in 1995.

6. Eddy Guerrero vs. Chris Benoit (Nitro 10/16/95) - I love this match, it's a perfect TV match. They have like 8 minutes to work with here, and they start off fast as hell with some pretty difficult sequences. All this leads to Guerrero missing a clothesline and hitting his arm on the post. As I watched this match, I kept wondering, who was doing a better job: Benoit's sadistic and brutal work on Guerrero or Guerrero's selling and great babyface combacks. Awesome match, and the injured arm story plays perfectly into the finish.

5. Eddy, Chavo y Mando Guerrero vs. El Satanico, MS1 y Masakre (EMLL 8/23/92) - I was blown away by this match, Los Guerreros just destroy Satanico, MS1, and Masakre with some of the most convincing matwork I've ever seen. They just dive in for takedowns, and just deliver some brutal legwork to all the rudos. This is a great example to show that lucha isn't all about dives and pretty sequences, as the work is like a Chigusa Nagayo vs Devil Masami AJW match from 1985, where they struggle through every hold and move. The 2nd fall is just as good, as the heels decide to get revenge by neutralizing the Guerreros by using headlocks and working on their head/neck areas. Even at around 30 minutes, I wish this match would have been a lot longer, it was superb.

4. Eddie Guerrero vs. JBL (Judgment Day 5/16/04) - The only thing keeping this match from being higher is that some of the stuff in the middle of the match didn't really seem as inspired as the opening segment or the finishing stretch. Even though Guerrero is like 5'6 and JBL is huge, you forget about that in the opening part since Guerrero just goes after JBL with awesome looking punches and it fits perfectly to the storyline that preceded this match. The thing everyone remembers about this match is the bladejob that Eddy pulls off that is really kinda uncomfortable to watch at times. The last stretch with the false finishes and Eddy's selling (which was so great it was scary to watch) and the fire he showed in his comebacks makes it kinda sad Eddy didn't have more bloody brawls since he was probably the most versatile worker I've ever seen. Also, it should be pointed out that a few months before this, JBL was quite a poor worker and at best a lower midcard guy, and yet in the last 10 minutes, the crowd is more emotionally invested in this match than any other match in 2004 and it's pretty much all thanks to Guerrero's storytelling ability.

3. Black Tiger vs. Wild Pegasus (NJ 6/11/96) - This match is quite awesome, Benoit becomes the biggest heel in the world by using the most nasty looking sleeper ever. Guerrero is constantly trying to escape and make a comeback, then Benoit keeps cutting him off with a sleeper, and the crowd heat is incredible. Also, Eddie's selling of the effects the sleeper had on his throat and head are pretty nice and subtle. This match also plays off their famous past matches and it's right up there as the best matches NJPW juniors ever had.

2. Eddy Guerrero y Love Machine vs. El Hijo Del Santo y Octagon (AAA When Worlds Collide 11/6/94) - This match only gets better with repeated viewing. AAA did a brilliant job building up this match and tying it into the history of both El Santo and Gory Guerrero. First fall is pretty short, but the 2nd fall does a great job of almost convincing the audience that El Hijo Del Santo is losing the mask. The 3rd fall is long like it should be, they play off some of the finishes from the previous falls, also they play up the famous Blue Panther-Love Machine feud that started more than 2 years ago in EMLL, Guerrero hits all these great suplexes and it's just a such a great joy to watch all this unfold. Dave Meltzer was at this match live, rated it ***** and has often talked about how INSANE the crowd heat was for this match.

1. Eddy Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio Jr. (Havoc 10/26/97) - I have never seen a wrestling match as much times as this one, it's the match I would show people if they are curious as to why I love pro wrestling. Guerrero comes in looking like the biggest meanest asshole ever, with the belt draped around his shoulder, with this slow walk and this look of total contempt on his face. Mysterio comes in as the small sympathetic babyface, who even though he had already defeated Guerrero multiple times, is still the underdog. The match is mostly Guerrero focusing on Mysterio's back, and the way Eddie controls the match is as good as it gets. Mysterio makes such a great babyface, hits all his comebacks smoothly and sells all of Eddie's great stuff like the most brutal moves ever. This match also features two of my favorite spots ever: Mysterio hitting that springboard moonsault DDT and a somersault into headscissors on the arena floor. I love this match, it's my favorite wrestling match ever.
Comments 
9th-Sep-2008 01:07 pm (UTC)
Cool, I'll have to track down these matches and watch them at some point.

Thanks. :)


10th-Sep-2008 05:08 am (UTC) - Guerrero-Benoit
I was trying to see if some of the matches were online, and I was able to find my # 6 pick. So if you have some time and you haven't seen it yet, check out this gem of a match. Also on DailyMotion, they have a few other Benoit/Guerrero matches that are superb:

http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/Nitro%2BGuerrero%2BBenoit/video/x5e8qv_nitro16101995-chris-benoit-vs-eddie_sport
10th-Sep-2008 01:40 pm (UTC) - Re: Guerrero-Benoit
Thanks for that. It was a really great match. I especially loved the powerbomb Benoit did. IIRC, he got in trouble for that because that was Nash's finishing move and they didn't want anybody else doing it, much less doing it waaaaay better than Nash did it.


9th-Sep-2008 01:42 pm (UTC)
This is a solid list. I also really like his IWA-MS match with CM Punk, and his last ECW match with Dean Malenko.
10th-Sep-2008 05:10 am (UTC)
Yeah that Punk match is really good, even though the title reign is over, it's still kinda cool that they made Punk the Raw World champion (although they could have dome more by letting get clean wins over top guys).

The Malenko match is great, and they had another ECW match that was a 30 minute draw that is my favorite of their ECW feud. The influence of those Guerrero-Malenko matches are really understated since to this day the influence of that style is felt in the American indies and mainstream promotions.
9th-Sep-2008 04:04 pm (UTC)
LOVE
9th-Sep-2008 04:07 pm (UTC)
Wow. A set that size for other guys, featuring essential handheld footage and rare TV matches would be awesome, and produce some really inclusive Best Of lists like the one you did here. Great work.
10th-Sep-2008 05:13 am (UTC)
Yeah, I met this guy on a messageboard I post on and he has done some great work on various all time great workers like Big Van Vader, Barry Windham, Jerry Lawler, Ted Dibiase, Rey Mysterio, and El Dandy. Yes, if it wasn't for him, I would not have been aware that El Dandy was one of the best workers in Mexico in the 1980s and 1990s before become a jobber in WCW after his peak years.
9th-Sep-2008 05:07 pm (UTC)
Holy shit you're still alive. That is excellent news and thanks for the comprehensive list.
10th-Sep-2008 05:15 am (UTC)
It's great to see you're still around, I want to catch up with a lot that I have missed while I've been gone. I hope to try to make more contributions to this fine site.

Earlier in the Summer, I saw High Fidelity, thought of you and remembered that I really want to make more fine lists~!
10th-Sep-2008 05:17 am (UTC)
That kind of comment makes me want to kick-start the community up again. I just finished watching the Mr. Perfect DVD set tonight, and it's just making me miss all the talented dead wrestlers more.
10th-Sep-2008 05:26 am (UTC)
Yeah, I don't think there is any other profession that has as many great performers die so young. I want to get that DVD eventually, I have so many fond memories of Mr. Perfect and his matches with Bret Hart. I remember as a kid, loving watching the KOTR 93, just to see his match with Bret Hart and that back and forth promo arguing whose father would win a fight.
10th-Sep-2008 05:30 am (UTC)
I'm annoyed that that match isn't on the DVD, nor the promo from what I can tell. There is an MSG house show match between the two of them, from back in '89, as well as the SummerSlam '91 and Uncensored '98 matches.

I appreciate the effort they put into these discs, but I always feel that they don't go far enough. For example, they talk about Hennig returning after his back injury, but they talk about the return in '96 with Helmsley, not his return at Survivor Series '92. They completely ignore three years or so.
10th-Sep-2008 04:26 pm (UTC)
KOTR is covered on Bret's disc. I appreciate their efforts to avoid cross-pollenating match lineups and such on their releases. HBK's two DVDs is a great example of this.
10th-Sep-2008 04:27 pm (UTC)
My index would appreciate a kick start too.

I'm a jerk. :)
10th-Sep-2008 03:16 am (UTC)
Does your acquaintance have a website, and if so does he have an HBK or Bret Hart comp?
10th-Sep-2008 05:18 am (UTC)
He does have a messageboard he posts on called www.prowrestlingonly.com. Unfortunately, he doesn't have a comp for HBK, but he does have an epic Hart Foundation comp of Bret Hart's run from his 1996 Survivor Series match with Austin to Montreal that focuses on Hart's return, heel run and feud with Austin, HBK, Taker.

Another website I post on called Crazymax.org might have an HBK comp, but I don't remember who was the messageboard poster that had a copy of that.
This page was loaded Mar 23rd 2017, 6:13 pm GMT.